‘Me Before You’ by Jojo Moyes

Eccentric homebody Lou Clark is looking for a job. Much to her surprise, the one she finds is as carer to Will Traynor, a wealthy and handsome young man who, since a car accident two years ago, is a quadriplegic. Although Lou has no caring experience, Will’s family are extremely keen that she take up the position. At first, Will greets Lou with intense hostility, but soon their relationship begins to develop.

 

I came to this book late. It was an enormous bestseller, a positive publishing phenomenon, and so in all likelihood I am the last person in the country to have read it. Nonetheless, I’ll do my best to avoid spoilers, because by some weird stroke of fate I managed to read this novel with NO IDEA how it was going to end, and I’m sure it made a difference to my experience. Lou is a wonderful narrator – I was instantly drawn to her quirky world-view, her perseverance, and her sense of humour. In some ways (impoverished girl meets handsome, wealthy man) this is a classic romance narrative. But in many other respects, Me Before You represents an unpredictable and highly enjoyable challenge to generic convention. I will tell you this much: it completely gutted me. Prepare to be very emotionally involved. If you liked David Nichols’ One Day, you will enjoy this brave and thought-provoking book. I loved it.

jojo-moyes
Jojo Moyes
Leave a Reply

