‘The Husband’s Secret’ by Liane Moriarty

Cecilia accidentally stumbles across a letter addressed to her from her husband, with the instruction that it only be opened on the event of his death… Rachel is devastated to learn that her son and daughter-in-law are leaving Sydney for New York, taking her adored grandson Jacob with them… Tess is shocked when her husband Will and her beloved cousin and best-friend Felicity reveal that they have fallen in love… Little do these women know that over the course of one Easter weekend, their stories will intertwine in a way they could never have imagined…

When I started reading this novel, I was expecting a fast-paced, domestic thriller, with twists, turns, and psychological intrigue. However, although the events described within the The Husband’s Secret all revolve around one central criminal act, it reads less as murder mystery, more as Aga saga. Once I’d readjusted my expectations, I enjoyed it, and found myself thoroughly engrossed by the three female narrators. I also enjoyed the setting of contemporary suburban Sydney, one with which I was previously entirely unfamiliar (although I could relate to the Irish Catholic-ness of it all). There is an odd recurring motif of the Berlin wall, which felt rather shoehorned in and was more or less lost on me, and early references to television programme ‘The Biggest Loser’ felt rather out-of-place too. That aside, I would cheerily recommend this to anyone in the mood to be mildly diverted.

liane-moriarty
Liane Moriarty
Leave a Reply

